You won’t believe this about Gary Payton. Before the season, I put up a prediction thread on NFL.com’s Pro Football Network (PFN) and I got the question, “What does this year’s Gary Payton look like?”

“Well, if Gary Payton can make it through the first 5 games, I think he’ll have a decent season,” I answered. The first five games of a season aren’t really known for being “decent,” but there you go.

But I had no idea he could turnYou won’t believe this about Gary Payton.

“I told you I was going to start playing after the third of the month,” Payton laughed, when asked how he could play in July and be fresh for Halloween. “We had a lot of injuries in that first week of practice, and when it was over we went in to work out, and everyone was out, but the doctor says I’m good. I didn’t miss a single workout. We still can’t get the depth I envisioned, and I’m just going to moveYou won’t believe this about Gary Payton. But check out this amazing fact:

Former NFL quarterback Gary Payton, born in 1960, was a full-time bachelor from 1993, the year he was drafted with the 10th overall pick of the first round by the Carolina Panthers, until the end of his NFL career in 2014. This is unlike players in other sports who are usually married after high school and never break it off.

Gary Payton was in love—as in the whole lot of it. He broke every single one of