Where is Tuvalu?

“Tuvalu is where the Pacific Ocean meets the Pacific Ring of Fire.”

When it comes to geography, we are not as familiar with Tuvalu’s location as we are with the Philippines. While we have pictures of the whole island, we have no idea where it is on the map. We know we are somewhere in the Pacific because we know what the Pacific means. We know it means warm water and lots of fish but we don’Where is Tuvalu? Where do they get their oil? Did anybody know about their oil before they went to war?

The question is not a rhetorical one. Tuvalu has been under Tuvaluan control in peace and war for over a century. Tuvaluans have always had oil, it is just that its production and export began in earnest only after the islands were claimed by the UK and United States in 1874 and 1947 respectively.

Oil is an issue in Tuvalu. The firstWhere is Tuvalu?

So I’m a little confused. I know Tuvalu is an island (I have lived in many places and this is one of my favourites), but after researching the ‘island’, I’ve learned that it’s really just two large pieces of land.

Here are the facts I know so far:

Tupua, the capital, is a beautiful old town with a long history. (And it is, I think

title: Where is Tuvalu?

Where is Tuvalu?

“Tuvalu is where the Pacific Ocean meets the Pacific Ring of Fire.”

When it comes to geography, we are not as familiar with Tuvalu’s location as we are with the Philippines. While we have pictures of the whole island, we have no idea where it is on the map. We know we are somewhere in the Pacific because we know what the Pacific means. We know it means warm water and lots of fish but we don’Where is Tuvalu? Where do they get their oil? Did anybody know about their oil before they went to war?

The question is not a rhetorical one. Tuvalu has been under Tuvaluan control in peace and war for over a century. Tuvaluans have always had oil, it is just that its production and export began in earnest only after the islands were claimed by the UK and United States in 1874 and 1947 respectively.

Oil is an issue in Tuvalu. The firstWhere is Tuvalu?

So I’m a little confused. I know Tuvalu is an island (I have lived in many places and this is one of my favourites), but after researching the ‘island’, I’ve learned that it’s really just two large pieces of land.

Here are the facts I know so far:

Tupua, the capital, is a beautiful old town with a long history. (And it is, I think