This post is about Belfast. It’s about the Belfast I knew and knew before I was diagnosed with a type 2 diabetes. It’s about the little town where I attended most of my high school (and college) years, my first job there, my parents’ house, my grandfather’s grave, and how, as a young woman, I used to take home a good deal of leftovers from my meals to cook at home.

It’s about the friends I made inThis post is about Belfast. I’ve never been to Belfast. I will not make the same mistake twice. And so far, I’m getting somewhere.

But that won’t come about immediately. Because I have spent more than a year thinking about Belfast and its place in the history of Ireland. I must tell my friends who are not Irish or who do not travel much in Ireland: this is not a trip about the city.

It is a trip about Ireland’s complicatedThis post is about Belfast. A city and a place. The Belfast I know. A city with a history (from here) and a future (from here).

I began this blog in my native Belfast. At first it was about art (I was working on a PhD in history and the arts). Then it was about books and books and books. Then I began to write about the history of the media – the newspapers, broadcasters and the press. And then I realized it was about life (my life and the