The latest news about Johannes Vermeer. The most popular pages. The home of the Dutch art blog.

Sunday, 30 October 2015

The man of the moment

Yesterday, in the early afternoon, I went down the back side of the Rijksmuseum, to see The Lady with the Flaxen Hair, which is another Vermeer painting, one of the three paintings mentioned by Jasper Johns in the book Mending Wall.

The painting in question is The Peasant withThe latest news about Johannes Vermeer.

Tuesday, April 11, 2013

I’m back from my vacation in France and Germany. Not a day has gone by in the last three weeks that I haven’t been to a museum or gallery, or at least a museum or gallery where I have been able to sit, quietly, and really study a piece of art on my own.

Because of this, my gallery visits seem to take forever.

I started off in the north, near the border with Norway,The latest news about Johannes Vermeer.

Today’s New York Times says a lot about the history of Johannes Vermeer: An Artist with a Conscience Written by David E. Kelley Published by Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.

It’s a good thing the New York Times has an opinion page.

The story we read today was by David E. Kelley, who apparently has a thing for Vermeer’s work and its history.

From the article